ABOUT

Me Maxime A. Pouliot, B.C.L./LL.B.

Presentation

I started my career as a family lawyer with some of the most prominent firms in Montreal, with renowned mentors, in a more traditional litigation practice.

I had the opportunity to negotiate and conclude out-of-court settlements, to make representations before the courts, and to work on highly complex cases.

A Different Approach

It is with the desire to practice law in a different way that I set up an alternative family legal service, focused on private dispute resolution.

A service that puts people first, without compromising on legal rigor.

Multidisciplinary Training

My professional training allows me to have a global view of family law:

  • Bachelors of Civil Law and Common Law
  • Bachelors of Sexology
  • Cégep diploma in Social Work

Why go beyond the law?

Court proceedings easily become time-consuming and costly. In family law, a more aggressive or strictly legal approach can also overshadow other important issues, including the well-being of children.

Even when legal remedies are available to meet certain demands, it is worthwhile to shed light on people's actual needs, to understand them, and to find solutions that can be more beneficial in the long run. Of course, it is sometimes necessary to use the courts, but there are different ways to do this to minimize the negative impacts.

When clients' requests are driven by otherwise valid feelings of disappointment, anger or revenge, it can be difficult to distinguish the emotional aspects from the legal ones and to make informed decisions.

Using principles specific to social work and sexology, I invite you to go beyond the law by developing adapted strategies that take into account your personal issues, your budget and the well-being of your children.

À PROPOS

Me Maxime A. Pouliot, B.C.L./LL.B.

Présentation

J’ai débuté ma carrière comme avocat en droit de la famille au sein de cabinets qui figurent parmi les plus importants à Montréal, avec des mentors de renom, dans une pratique plus traditionnelle de litige.

J’ai alors eu l’occasion de négocier et conclure des règlements à l’amiable, de faire des représentations devant les tribunaux, en plus de travailler sur des dossiers d’une grande complexité.

Une approche différente

C’est en souhaitant pratiquer le droit autrement que j’ai mis sur pied un service de conseil juridique familial alternatif, centré sur les modes privés de règlement des différends.

Un service qui place l’humain au premier plan, sans compromis sur la rigueur juridique.

Formation multidisciplinaire

Mes formations professionnelles me permettent d’avoir un regard global sur le droit de la famille :

  • Baccalauréat en droit civil et common law
  • Baccalauréat en sexologie
  • DEC en travail social

Pourquoi aller au-delà du droit?

Les débats devant les tribunaux deviennent facilement longs et coûteux. En droit de la famille, une approche plus agressive ou strictement juridique peut aussi porter ombrage à d’autres enjeux importants, incluant le bien-être des enfants.

Même lorsqu’il existe des outils juridiques pour répondre à certaines demandes, il vaut la peine de faire la lumière sur les besoins réels, de les comprendre, et de trouver des solutions qui seront plus profitables à long terme. Bien sûr, il est parfois nécessaire d’utiliser les tribunaux, mais il existe différentes manières de le faire pour minimiser les impacts négatifs.

Quand les demandes des client.es sont animées par des sentiments bien réels de déception, de colère ou de vengeance, il peut être difficile de distinguer l’émotif du juridique et de prendre des décisions éclairées.

En utilisant des principes propres au travail social et à la sexologie, je vous invite à aller au-delà du droit en élaborant avec vous des stratégies adaptées qui tiennent compte de vos enjeux personnels, de votre budget et du bien-être de vos enfants.